It’s a New Day, It’s a New Dawn

It’s a new life for me and I’m feeling goooooooooooooooooood.

Hello darlings, I have completed my time as a corporate coffee jockey for the foreseeable future. I can’t quite wrap my head around the fact that my green apron is truly cast off, but I am very grateful that it is.

I could say a lot about the plight of the lowly “partner”. I could spend pages upon pages reminding people that although there are literal signs placed about that the company “takes care” of it’s baristas, the workers start out at minimum wage and despite good reviews and raises years later the people busting their humps to make your beverages still do not earn a living wage. I could wax philosophical about union busting, corporate globalization and the endless tyranny of rude customers who demand above-and-beyond service while never tipping.

However, I won’t.

I will instead tell you that my former workplace witnessed my laughter. Loud, ringing and genuine guffaws. In that building I laid eyes on some of the most true and supportive friends I have ever had the good grace to acquire. It gave me stories. It reenforced my belief that classism is alive and well and needs to be eliminated. It reminded me that kindness is a currency that will fade fast if not practiced.

Also, it gave me free coffee. Gallons and gallons of free coffee.

Most importantly, it gave me perspective. The lessons I learned in that service industry position accumulate to two overarching principals: 1) face to face customer service employment is some of the hardest and most unappreciated work that one can do and 2) Perspective and attitude can carry you far, but it can not make up for having to do the work of three humans for less than a third of that pay.

I am grateful of the education that having a position on the lowest rung of a corporate chain provided me, but I am even more thankful to find myself at a company that truly values it’s employees as human beings. The fact that my current job sparks my creativity, challenges me and has room for improvement and growth don’t hurt things a bit either. I love them so much I went in on my day off to attend meetings with a big ol’ grin on my face. That is a FIRST in my employment history.

Freedom (from wage slavery) is mine.

One thought on “It’s a New Day, It’s a New Dawn

Leave a Reply

